Airmen of Note Audio

All tracks are in MP3 format.  Click track name to play - low bit-rate, available to all.
For CD-quality audio, right-click
track number, then select Save-Target-As.
CD-quality audio is available only to those who help support this site.



From the liner notes...

On this CD, 14 guests shared in making
the music, each having contributed their
own part to the history of the "Note". I was
particularly honored to have performances
Fred Kepner, the man who first organized
and directed the Airmen of Note in 1950;
Tommy Newsom, saxophonist
extraordinaire and former lead alto of the
Tonight Show Band; and the remarkably
gifted trombonist
Dave Steinmeyer, former
director 1979-1989. The Airmen of Note
also appreciates the donation of time and
contribution of world-class talent from
these alumni who reside in the Washington
D.C. metropolitan area:

Rick Whitehead (Ret) 1969-91
Jim Lay (Ret) 1970-89
Rick Lillard (Ret) 1976-92
Vaughn Nark (Ret) 1978-93
Doug Gately (Ret) 1978-93
Bobbie McCleary 1978-88
Juanita Williams 1990-96
Lee Lachman 1978-83
Tim Eyermann 1971-74
Tom Williams 1981-87

And finally our very special guest, one of
the jazz legends of our time,
Mr. Joe
, who once again honored the
Airmen of Note with his amazing voice.

Pete BarenBregge
Director, Airmen of Note



||     PLAY

Theme  (1:45)
(Robert Crawford)  arr. Fred Kepner
Fred Kepner, Piano

02 The Red Door  (5:49)
(Zoot Sims)  arr. Tommy Newsom
Tommy Newsom, Tenor Saxophone
Wade Beach, Piano
Vaughn Nark, Trumpet, Valve Trombone
C.E. Askew, Drums
03 Chelsea Bridge  (5:25)
(Billy Strayhorn)  arr. Sammy Nestico
Pete BarenBregge, Tenor Saxophone
04 Sleaze Factor  (6:56)
(Randy Brecker)  arr. Mike Crotty
Joe Eckert, Alto Saxophone
Tim Leahey, Trumpet
05 Yesterdays  (4:30)
(Jerome Kern)  arr. Mike Crotty
Tracey Wright, Vocal
Shawn Purcell, Guitar
06 The Poet  (7:09)
(Mike Crotty)
Dudley Hinote, Bass Trombone
Wade Beach, Piano
07 Filthy McNasty  (5:42)
(Horace Silver)  arr. John Fluck
Tracey Wright, Vocal
Saul Miller, Tenor Saxophone
Rick Lillard, Vocal
Tm Leahey, Trumpet
08 Groovin' High  (6:29)
(Dizzy Gillespie)  arr. John Wasson
Joe Eckert, Alto Saxophone
Andy Axelrad, Alto Saxophone
09 This Is All I Ask  (7:07)
(Gordon Jenkins)  arr. Mike Crotty
Dave Steinmeyer, Trombone
Rick Whitehead, Guitar
10 Mood Indigo  (4:36)
(Duke Ellington)  arr. Mike Crotty
Bobbie McCleary, Vocal
11 Reunion Dues  (6:49)
(Mike Crotty)  arr. Mike Crotty
Tim Leahey, Trumpet
Rick Lillard, Trombone
12 America the Beautiful  (3:23)
(Samuel Ward / Kathleen Bates)
arr. Mike Crotty
Joe Williams, Vocal
Juanita Williams, Vocal
Pete BarenBregge, Tenor Saxophone